Cooking with Katie



Sweet Potato Fries

I love French fries, and I mean LOVE! But do you know what I love even more? Sweet Potato Fries!!!!!!!!!!! I first had them with my grandma, and ever since, I’ve never been able to contain myself when they’re on the table! If you noticed, these fries are on a baking sheet…hmmmm, I wonder why? Maybe because these fries are baked instead of fried! I know, I know, it kind of defeats the purpose of a sweet potato FRY, but, trust me, you will not miss all the grease!

These fries have a great sweet flavor from the orange juice glaze, and then you get just a hint of spice at the end from the cayenne pepper! It isn’t overwhelming at all,  and the flavors are very subtle. But they balance themselves well and the whole dish compliments itself. I hope you enjoy these tasty little snacks! (I’m sorry about the picture above, the lighting was pretty bad and that turned out to be the best of a few tries!)

Sweet Potato Fries (Claire Robinson)

  • 2 large sweet potatoes (peeled)
  • 1/4 c orange juice (if it’s store bought, be sure it’s low pulp, or you could use freshly squeezed)
  • 1 tbsp. vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh ginger
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Cut the peeled potatoes into 1/2 inch sticks, like french fries, and put them in a bowl. Combine the orange juice, oil, salt and pepper, ginger, and cayenne pepper in a sauce pan and whisk while it simmers until it comes to a think consistency. Pour the glaze over the potatoes and lay on a baking sheet covered with foil.

If you have a convection oven/toaster oven, put in there for about 12 minutes. Then take out, flip over, and put back in for another 15 minutes.

If you have just a regular oven, coat a baking sheet with veg. oil and put in the oven for 12 minutes. Flip, put back in, and roast for another 13 minutes. Eat immediately (they get cold fast!) and enjoy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * jill dempsey says:

    Everything looks wonderful! So proud of you for starting your own blog. Can’t wait to make some of these recipes, they all look so good.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. I am so gonna make these! Looks yummy too.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

